Victoria by Daisy Goodwin audiobook

Victoria: A novel of a young queen by the Creator/Writer of the Masterpiece Presentation on PBS

By Daisy Goodwin
Read by Anna Wilson-Jones

Macmillan Audio
12.42 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $31.99

    ISBN: 9781427274359

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    Usually Ships in 1-2 weeks

"Victoria is an absolutely captivating novel of youth, love, and the often painful transition from immaturity to adulthood. Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." – AMANDA FOREMAN Drawing on Queen Victoria’s diaries, which she first started reading when she was a student at Cambridge University, Daisy Goodwin—creator and writer of the new PBS Masterpiece drama Victoria and author of the bestselling novels The American Heiress and The Fortune Hunter—brings the young nineteenth-century monarch, who would go on to reign for 63 years, richly to life in this magnificent novel. Early one morning, less than a month after her eighteenth birthday, Alexandrina Victoria is roused from bed with the news that her uncle William IV has died and she is now Queen of England. The men who run the country have doubts about whether this sheltered young woman, who stands less than five feet tall, can rule the greatest nation in the world. Despite her age, however, the young queen is no puppet. She has very definite ideas about the kind of queen she wants to be, and the first thing is to choose her name. “I do not like the name Alexandrina,” she proclaims. “From now on I wish to be known only by my second name, Victoria.” Next, people say she must choose a husband. Everyone keeps telling her she’s destined to marry her first cousin, Prince Albert, but Victoria found him dull and priggish when they met three years ago. She is quite happy being queen with the help of her prime minister, Lord Melbourne, who may be old enough to be her father but is the first person to take her seriously. On June 19th, 1837, she was a teenager. On June 20th, 1837, she was a queen. Daisy Goodwin’s impeccably researched and vividly imagined new audiobook brings readers Queen Victoria as they have never seen her before. This program includes an interview with the author, Daisy Goodwin, who is the writer and creator of Victoria, the Masterpiece Presentation on PBS. Anna Wilson-Jones, who plays Lady Portman on the show, narrates.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

An Amazon Best Book of the Month

A BookPage Top Pick for December 2016

"Victoria is an absolutely captivating novel of youth, love, and the often painful transition from immaturity to adulthood. Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." – AMANDA FOREMAN Drawing on Queen Victoria’s diaries, which she first started reading when she was a student at Cambridge University, Daisy Goodwin—creator and writer of the new PBS Masterpiece drama Victoria and author of the bestselling novels The American Heiress and The Fortune Hunter—brings the young nineteenth-century monarch, who would go on to reign for 63 years, richly to life in this magnificent novel. Early one morning, less than a month after her eighteenth birthday, Alexandrina Victoria is roused from bed with the news that her uncle William IV has died and she is now Queen of England. The men who run the country have doubts about whether this sheltered young woman, who stands less than five feet tall, can rule the greatest nation in the world. Despite her age, however, the young queen is no puppet. She has very definite ideas about the kind of queen she wants to be, and the first thing is to choose her name. “I do not like the name Alexandrina,” she proclaims. “From now on I wish to be known only by my second name, Victoria.” Next, people say she must choose a husband. Everyone keeps telling her she’s destined to marry her first cousin, Prince Albert, but Victoria found him dull and priggish when they met three years ago. She is quite happy being queen with the help of her prime minister, Lord Melbourne, who may be old enough to be her father but is the first person to take her seriously. On June 19th, 1837, she was a teenager. On June 20th, 1837, she was a queen. Daisy Goodwin’s impeccably researched and vividly imagined new audiobook brings readers Queen Victoria as they have never seen her before. This program includes an interview with the author, Daisy Goodwin, who is the writer and creator of Victoria, the Masterpiece Presentation on PBS. Anna Wilson-Jones, who plays Lady Portman on the show, narrates.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Ms. Goodwin writes deliciously. Janet Maslin, The New York Times on The American Heiress
Victoria is an absolutely captivating novel of youth, love, and the often painful transition from immaturity to adulthood. Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit. Amanda Foreman, New York Times bestselling author of Georgiana: Duchess of Devonshire and A World on Fire, and 2016 Chair of The Man Booker Prize
A shrewd, spirited historical romance with flavors of Edith Wharton, Daphne du Maurier, Jane Austen,Upstairs, Downstairs, and a dash of People magazine...Superior entertainment. Kirkus Reviews (starred) on The American Heiress
"Gorgeous...the perfect storm of escapism, suspense, romance, and superb historical research. The Times (UK) on The Fortune Hunter
"Narrator Anna Wilson-Jones and author Daisy Goodwin work magic in this captivating historical novel about the tiny queen with a huge personality. AudioFile Magazine, Earphones Award Winner
A luxurious indulgence...Goodwin writes with effortless grace, and her dialogue's subtle wit is delightful. Booklist on The Fortune Hunter
"The research is impeccable, the attention to details -- from protocol to petticoats -- perfect, and it brings the formidable figure of Victoria to sparkling life. Sunday Mirror
Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria’s story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit.” Amanda Foreman, New York Times bestselling author
“Narrator Anna Wilson-Jones and author Daisy Goodwin work magic in this captivating historical novel…Wilson-Jones, whose clear and inviting narrative voice trips along at a perfect pace and sounds perfect for a book about royalty, serves the author beautifully. She has a wide range of accents and skill with both female and male voices. And her ability to perform believable conversational dialogue adds much to the novel’s many pleasures…Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile
"[An] irresistible love story…Fans of Downton, The Crown, etc., will want to dive right in.” People
“In Victoria, Daisy Goodwin’s lively and effervescent novel, the range of her storytelling is rich…Goodwin’s queen has all the makings of a captivating human paradox.” New York Times Book Review
“Goodwin’s grasp of the background is impeccable, and she has an instinct for the delicious details that turn a history lesson into cracking fiction.” Times (London)
“Fans of character-driven story lines will relish witnessing Victoria’s transition from immaturity to adulthood.” Real Simple, A Best New Books to Read This Month: November
“A deep exploration of a well-known character who hasn’t quite become who she’s going to be…A wonderful read.” Toronto Star
“An intimate portrait of an extremely bright but painfully lonely teenage girl who one day had only pets and dolls for company and the next was regent of England.” New York Post
“This richly detailed portrait…hews closely to history in a story that’s both captivating and poignant.” BookPage

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Daisy Goodwin

Author Bio: Daisy Goodwin

Daisy Goodwin is a television producer, presenter, and author. She has edited numerous poetry anthologies, including the bestselling 101 Poems That Could Save Your Life, and is the author of Silver River, a memoir. She was chair of the judging panel of the 2010 Orange Prize for Fiction. Her first novel, My Last Duchess, was translated into thirteen languages.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD
Category: Nonfiction/Biography & Autobiography
Runtime: 12.42
Audience: Adult
Language: English