What She Saw by Gerard Stembridge audiobook

What She Saw: A Novel

By Gerard Stembridge
Read by Saskia Maarleveld  and Gerard Stembridge

HarperAudio 9780062568984
8.33 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $34.99

    Special Price $22.74

    ISBN: 9781538420126

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $25.99

    ISBN: 9781538420140

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

A taut, stylish thriller set over the course of twenty-four hours in Paris—perfect for fans of Chris Pavone's The Expats and Olen Steinhauer's The Tourist. The storied Hotel Chevalier on Paris’ ritzy Right Bank hosts celebrities, dignitaries, and—for one night—Lana Gibson, an American woman who’s escaped the monotony of her staid married life for a cultural jaunt to the City of Light. As long as she takes her meds, she promises herself, her heightened curiosity and manic elation will stay under control. But when that curiosity leads her to the hotel’s private elevator which serves only the ultra-elite penthouse Suite Imperial, she spies much more than plush carpets and gilt chandeliers: a young woman caught in the clutches of a threatening-looking older man. Unable to erase the image of the girl in danger from her mind, Lana alerts the police, plunging herself into a firestorm of intrigue and becoming a target. As she engages in a cat-and-mouse game that plays out across the streets of Paris, it emerges that the older man is a prominent public figure, and the murky situation only offers more questions: Is he being set up? Who stands to gain the most from his downfall? Not knowing who has her best interests at heart, Lana will need to use every ounce of strength and guile as she races to discover the relationship between the truth and what she saw. Set against the glittering city of Paris, What She Saw is a hypnotic, thoroughly compelling thriller that will leave readers guessing until the final pages.  

Learn More

Summary

Summary

A taut, stylish thriller set over the course of twenty-four hours in Paris—perfect for fans of Chris Pavone's The Expats and Olen Steinhauer's The Tourist.

The storied Hotel Chevalier on Paris’ ritzy Right Bank hosts celebrities, dignitaries, and—for one night—Lana Gibson, an American woman who’s escaped the monotony of her staid married life for a cultural jaunt to the City of Light. As long as she takes her meds, she promises herself, her heightened curiosity and manic elation will stay under control. But when that curiosity leads her to the hotel’s private elevator which serves only the ultra-elite penthouse Suite Imperial, she spies much more than plush carpets and gilt chandeliers: a young woman caught in the clutches of a threatening-looking older man. Unable to erase the image of the girl in danger from her mind, Lana alerts the police, plunging herself into a firestorm of intrigue and becoming a target. As she engages in a cat-and-mouse game that plays out across the streets of Paris, it emerges that the older man is a prominent public figure, and the murky situation only offers more questions: Is he being set up? Who stands to gain the most from his downfall? Not knowing who has her best interests at heart, Lana will need to use every ounce of strength and guile as she races to discover the relationship between the truth and what she saw. Set against the glittering city of Paris, What She Saw is a hypnotic, thoroughly compelling thriller that will leave readers guessing until the final pages.

 

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A fast-paced romp through the streets of Paris, with menace lurking in surprising quarters, a memorable cast of lively characters, and some terrific twists.” Chris Pavone, New York Times bestselling author
“Irish author Stembridge provides a satisfyingly twisty twenty-four-hour thrill ride through the heart of contemporary Paris.” Publishers Weekly
“Stembridge creates an indefatigable protagonist…in a chase through the vividly portrayed City of Light. A thoroughly entertaining mix of suspense and setting.” Booklist
“This deliciously sharp thriller places us firmly in Hitchcock territory; a sophisticated city, a troubled protagonist, sex, scandal, politics, and a cast of characters you just can’t trust, all delivered with a thoroughly modern sensibility. What She Saw is original, stylish and intriguing.” Sarah Pinborough, author of Behind Her Eyes
“A gripping modern noir, with a classic caper plot and a beguiling Parisian setting. What She Saw is atmospheric and propulsive.” Flynn Berry, author of Under the Harrow

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Gerard Stembridge

Author Bio: Gerard Stembridge

Gerard Stembridge is an author, playwright, director, and filmmaker. His writer and director whose credits include About Adam, Guiltrip, and Alarm. His screenplays include Ordinary Decent Criminal and Nora.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Thrillers/Suspense
Runtime: 8.33
Audience: Adult
Language: English