When You Look Like Us by Pamela Harris audiobook

When You Look Like Us

By Pamela Harris

Quill Tree Books, HarperCollins 9780062945891
1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $20.00

    Available on 01/05/2021

    ISBN: 9781799946984

  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $20.00

    Available on 01/05/2021

    ISBN: 9781799946991

From debut author Pamela Harris comes a timely, gripping teen novel about a boy who must take up the search for his sister when she goes missing from a neighborhood where black girls’ disappearances are too often overlooked. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Tiffany D. Jackson. When you look like us—brown skin, brown eyes, black braids or fades—everyone else thinks you’re trouble. No one even blinks twice over a missing black girl from public housing because she must’ve brought whatever happened to her upon herself. I, Jay Murphy, can admit that, for a minute, I thought my sister Nicole just got caught up with her boyfriend—a drug dealer—and his friends. But she’s been gone too long. Nic, where are you? If I hadn’t hung up on her that night, she would be at our house, spending time with Grandma. If I was a better brother, she’d be finishing senior year instead of being another name on a missing persons list. It’s time to step up, to do what the Newport News police department won’t. Bring her home.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

From debut author Pamela Harris comes a timely, gripping teen novel about a boy who must take up the search for his sister when she goes missing from a neighborhood where black girls’ disappearances are too often overlooked. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Tiffany D. Jackson.

When you look like us—brown skin, brown eyes, black braids or fades—everyone else thinks you’re trouble. No one even blinks twice over a missing black girl from public housing because she must’ve brought whatever happened to her upon herself. I, Jay Murphy, can admit that, for a minute, I thought my sister Nicole just got caught up with her boyfriend—a drug dealer—and his friends. But she’s been gone too long. Nic, where are you?

If I hadn’t hung up on her that night, she would be at our house, spending time with Grandma.

If I was a better brother, she’d be finishing senior year instead of being another name on a missing persons list.

It’s time to step up, to do what the Newport News police department won’t.

Bring her home.

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Pamela Harris

Author Bio: Pamela Harris

Titles by Author

Author Bio: Pamela N. Harris

Author Bio: Pamela N. Harris

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Coming-of-Age
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English