You Were Made for This by Michelle Sacks audiobook

You Were Made for This

By Michelle Sacks
Read by Stephanie Willis , Jeremy Arthur , and Caroline Slaughter

Little, Brown & Company, Hachette Book Group 9780316475402
8.49 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $35.00

    Special Price $22.75

    ISBN: 9781549143717

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    Usually Ships in 1-2 weeks

A gripping page-turner for fans of The Couple Next Door, Michelle Sacks’ You Were Made For This provocatively explores the darker sides of marriage, motherhood, and friendship. Doting wife, devoted husband, cherished child. Merry, Sam, and Conor are the perfect family in the perfect place. Merry adores the domestic life: baking, gardening, caring for her infant son. Sam, formerly an academic, is pursuing a new career as a filmmaker. Sometimes they can hardly believe how lucky they are. What perfect new lives they’ve built. When Merry’s childhood friend Frank visits their Swedish paradise, she immediately becomes part of the family. She bonds with Conor. And with Sam. She befriends the neighbors and even finds herself embracing the domesticity she’s always seemed to scorn. All their lives, Frank and Merry have been more like sisters than best friends. And that’s why Frank soon sees the things others might miss. Treacherous things, which are almost impossible to believe when looking at this perfect family. But Frank, of all people, knows that the truth is rarely what you want the world to see.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

A gripping page-turner for fans of The Couple Next Door, Michelle Sacks’ You Were Made For This provocatively explores the darker sides of marriage, motherhood, and friendship.

Doting wife, devoted husband, cherished child. Merry, Sam, and Conor are the perfect family in the perfect place. Merry adores the domestic life: baking, gardening, caring for her infant son. Sam, formerly an academic, is pursuing a new career as a filmmaker. Sometimes they can hardly believe how lucky they are. What perfect new lives they’ve built.

When Merry’s childhood friend Frank visits their Swedish paradise, she immediately becomes part of the family. She bonds with Conor. And with Sam. She befriends the neighbors and even finds herself embracing the domesticity she’s always seemed to scorn.

All their lives, Frank and Merry have been more like sisters than best friends. And that’s why Frank soon sees the things others might miss. Treacherous things, which are almost impossible to believe when looking at this perfect family. But Frank, of all people, knows that the truth is rarely what you want the world to see.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A taut novel of deception, full of heart-wrenching twists and turns. Michelle Sacks shows us that happy families are not always what they seem and explores the dark shadows that lurk within the fairy tale, and in human nature.” Jennifer McMahon, New York Times bestselling author
“Sacks’ first novel expertly portrays the dark side of domesticity and motherhood…When tragedy strikes, secrets unravel. Who will survive and who will be sacrificed?” Library Journal (starred review)

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Michelle Sacks

Author Bio: Michelle Sacks

Michelle Sacks is the author of novels and a short story collection. Her fiction has been shortlisted for the Commonwealth Short Story Prize and for two South African PEN Literary Awards. She holds a master’s degree in literature and film from the University of Cape Town.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD
Category: Fiction/Thrillers
Runtime: 8.49
Audience: Adult
Language: English